Eric Yarber

Yarber was selected by the Washington Redskins as a 12th-round pick in the 1986 NFL Draft and spent three seasons as a wide receiver and punt returner. He was part of the Washington squad that defeated the Denver Broncos to win Super Bowl XXII in 1988, leading that team with 37 punt returns. At Idaho, Yarber was a Kodak All-American and the Big Sky Conference’s Most Valuable Player during his senior year, catching 75 passes for 1,103 yards. As a junior, he finished 10th in the nation in punt returns and third in the conference with 817 receiving yards on 54 catches. He attended Crenshaw High School in Los Angeles.

Yarber began his coaching career at Idaho in 1996 as a secondary coach under second-year head coach Chris Tormey. The next year, he became the receivers coach at UNLV. In 1998, head coach Dennis Erickson made Yarber the offensive quality control coach of the Seattle Seahawks. Yarber coached under Erickson from 1998-2004 and from 2007-2009 in some capacity. From 1999-2002, he was on the staff at Oregon State. In 1999, he was he running backs coach, the next year; he became the wide receivers coach. He coached Chad Johnson and T.J. Houshmandzadeh during their time with the Beavers. He followed Erickson to the pros and he served as the San Francisco 49ers receivers coach in 2003 and 2004. Following Erickson’s dismissal, Yarber served as the receivers coach for the Washington Huskies for two seasons under head coach Tyrone Willingham. In 2007, Yarber became the receivers coach for the Arizona State under Erickson and served in that position until the end of the 2009 season. In 2010, Yarber moved back to the NFL for two seasons with as the wide receivers coach for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

On January 2, 2012, following a 4-12 record in the 2011 season, Raheem Morris and his entire coaching staff were fired. On January 9, 2012, Yarber was named the wide receivers coach for UCLA under new head coach Jim Mora.

He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Idaho in 1995. He was married in June 2005 to his wife, Michele. He and his wife have two sons, Robert and Kameryon.

Corissa Yasen

Corissa Yasen was an exceptional athlete at Coeur d’Alene High School graduating in 1992.  During her freshman year in 1988-1989 she was 11th at the state cross-country meet and was 2nd in the long jump at the state meet.  In her sophomore year she was the state cross country champion and was state champion in the long jump and high jump.  She placed 2nd in the 400 meters.

Her junior year she won a state championship on the varsity basketball team and helped the Vikings place first at the state track meet.  Individually she place first at the state meet in the long jump, high jump 200 meters and the 4×200 relay.  She was also awarded the National Scholastic High School Indoor High Jump champion.

During her senior year she placed 4th at the state cross-country meet, won another state basketball championship and took first in the long jump, high jump, 4×400 relay and took 2nd in the 200 meters.  Corrissa still holds the Idaho State high jump record.  She was named Gatorade Track and Field Athlete of the Year in 1992 and again was the National Scholastic High School Outdoor High Jump champion.

Corissa Yasen was a nine-time NCAA track and field All-American, ten times Big-10 Champion at Purdue University, and the 1996 NCAA heptathlon champion.  After using up her track eligibility, she played one year of basketball at Purdue, averaging 11.4 points and 6.2 rebounds per game, helping the Boilermakers advance to the NCAA Tournament.

She was selected to play for the Sacramento Monarchs, one of the eight initial teams in the women’s NBA in 1997.  She also qualified for the Olympic Track and Field Trials in 1992 for the high jump and in 1996 for the high jump and heptathlon.

Frank Young

Frank Young spent seven years on the Idaho boxing coaching staff, including six as the head coach. Young led the Vandals to the 1950 NCAA championship, and during his tenure had four of his athletes win a combined seven individual national titles. Following the discontinuation of boxing at Idaho in 1954, Young was an associate athletic director and the executive secretary of Vandal Boosters until 1960. He then served as director of admissions for 17 years in Moscow. The team championships, individual accolades and recognition from his time leading Vandal boxing set Frank Young apart in Idaho Athletics history. His 30 years as a coach, professor, administrator and leader set him in a category all his own at the University of Idaho.

John Yarno

The 1976 Big Sky Football Player of the Year wasn’t a flashy quarterback or running back, he was a gritty, tough warrior of the trenches. He was Idaho center John Yarno. The 1976 AP first-team All-American was the first interior lineman to earn the Big Sky honor and also the first unanimous winner of the award. He helped lead the Vandals to a 7-4 overall record, their first winning season in five years, and a second-place finish in the Big Sky. After the season, he earned Idaho’s Offensive MVP award. The Seattle Seahawks took Yarno in the fourth round of the 1977 NFL Draft. He played six NFL seasons and appeared in 74 games for the Seahawks. His #56 jersey was retired by the University of Idaho in 1977.